An after Thought

Below are my thoughts after watching the film ‘Elysium’.

I just finished watching the film ‘Elysium’. As a movie I enjoyed it but what I enjoyed most is that it picked up on issues that face us today. Immigration, health, class, Ecology, earths resources, developed and underdeveloped regions. I thought the movie portrayed the issue of immigration very well. How, many people are not allowed to cross a border even if it is for medical reasons. How many are not allowed to cross because they cannot afford it. We live in a world today, were borders are more than just lines on a map or a wall in the desert. They are physical and they are political and they hurt many. I understand that borders are old and they separate or rather help distinguish one nation-state from another but in today’s society, it is only a matter of time before we must choose to allow borders to separate our Peoples or help bring them together in a larger, more accepted and more equal society.

I believe people should have the right to seek out a better life, even if that life is across the border or on a different continent. That right should be for all citizens of the world and not just for a few. I’m sure that one day, just like in Europe and other parts of the world, people can travel freely and choose where is best suited for their needs, their wants and their desires.

I shed a tear watching this movie because when I watch movies or TV programs like this, I know too well that it’s not all imaginary but rather it’s all too real, too well known and not enough is done. I’m talking about combating poverty, being able to access free health care and free education. Things that are easily accessible to millions and yet so rare and hugely expensive to millions more. You’d think everyone would want each other to live life as fair and as equal as one another, you’d think that but there are people out there that think of ideas and reasons to counter that thought, to corrupt thinking and alter our education.

What is ‘right’ and what is ‘morally right’ are too different things. While we think in many different ways ‘politically’, ‘financially’, ‘militarily’, ‘in the interest of’ people will always suffer until we find a way to think with our hearths.

By J Myers

3 thoughts on “An after Thought

  1. Hey Jonathan, thank you so much for reading my post and citing it. It means a lot, and I found myself asking myself questions.. And pondering these issues. I love whenscreen writers bbring REAL issues to mainstream entertainment/movies because it reaches masses. And if you and I found alot of truth ringing from this movie that means others do too! Thank you again for sharing.. Because this is very important!

    -T.O.

  2. Thanks for the link love, Jonathan! I really enjoyed Elysium, a lot more than many others did apparently, and so did you. I also picked up the underlying subtext Blomkamp put into the film (a lot like he did with District 9), but I wish they’d been more intiricately woven into the movie rather than just plonked into the background and foreground with little subtlety. Otherwise, I thought the film was excellent.

Leave a Reply

